top of page

Coraline modeling continued...

Furnace

Yesterday, September 18th, I managed to get much of the furnace model blocked out. So, today I polished the little details that were missing like the buttons and metal flaps on the top and sides.


I began with a cube polygon and matched the form of the furnace to the reference image. Then I created the front wires using NURBs curves and converted the wires to polygons when I finished resizing them. I also used NURBs for the front round square part that the wires are partially covering. The NURBs curves helped me create a square figure with round edges without the need of using a plane and manipulating the faces. For the coils, I used the helix polygon primitive and stacked several to match the image and combined the mesh using Boolean.



Russian Nesting Dolls

For the Russian nesting dolls, I used a NURBs curve and revolved it to get the three different forms shown in the image on the left. I created three different forms because the references on the dolls were somewhat obscure, so I left the decision to which figure to use to my teammates. They decided the rightmost figure was the best of the three.



Suitcase

The suitcase was also another simple model, in which I just used a polygon cube and added more divisions to it. The extra divisions allowed me to extrude the edges and faces needed. I then beveled the edges and UV unwrapped the model.



Cardboard Box

Another model I was tasked to was the cardboard box. I began with a polygon cube and added several divisions, so that manipulating the form would give me somewhat of a distorted object. I only extruded maybe five times: the little flaps and the front protruded "lip." Afterwards, I played with the edges and vertices to achieve the look of a beat up box. Then the model was beveled and smooth. Once completed, I unwrapped it.


Links to my partners' blog:

2 views0 comments
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
bottom of page